The Patient Pokerista

7 06 2014

Ah yes, patience. One cannot over-emphasize how important it is to have it during a night of poker. At this stage of our poker skills, and with our years of experience I cannot help but think that it is patience, more than anything else that separates 1st and last place in our rankings. As skillful a poker player as I think Keith is, the one thing that I see that really makes him stand out is his patience. If he is not getting dealt good cards he will patiently continue to fold until he’s got something to play with, which obviously makes him very dangerous to play against. I see that quality in Paul as well, which explains why he’s gotten so good in such a short period of time. He currently leads all players in money earned by a wide margin, and I don’t see him giving up that lead very easily. These two guys are finesse players.

On the other hand, you’ve got bludgeoners like Alex and Bob. These two are classic take-no-prisoners, lop your head off with a sledgehammer type players. They will try and beat you into submission. They’re kinda like: “you like your cards? Let’s see how much you like ’em after I raise you $30”. While not as successful as the finesse players, they can make some big money as we have all seen, but they can lose some big coin as well. They are successful through intimidation and they have proven that bullying can be a very useful tool for winning at poker.

Into that mix you can throw in plodders like Dave and Jack. These two guys are proof that chasers and never-met-a-hand-you-didn’t-like type players can have success as well. While Dave has been playing well this year so far, it’s Jack that impresses me the most with this style of play. I’m constantly surprised at how well he does playing this style of poker. Then again, he does have decades of experience playing cards with the big boys, and that’s gotta count for something. I’m not sure where the rest of us fall in, probably a little of all of these styles. But one thing is for sure, if I could choose which style to emulate and to strive for, it would be the patient style of Keith and Paul.

I set off this week to play with more patience and to some degree it worked. I know I still lost, but only $11. I could have finished positive but for one lapse in which I lost approx. $30 in one hand. Why? I lost my patience, simple as that. I tried to force a win and I got bitten in the ass because of it. In a year when winning doesn’t come so easy, patience is the only thing that will keep you afloat. Well, I’d like to hear what you all have to say about this, as well as adding any of your own thoughts to it. Let me know what you think.

As always, The Stats: POKER 2014

Next game will be at Ken Lum’s House of Mild Discomfort. Don’t forget our new $2 rule for all non-hosting players. Did Eric take his Jesus picture home? Dude, at this point you need something, anything, to dig yourself outta the hole you’re in, so don’t turn your back on THE LORD!! In keeping with the biggest sporting event in the world starting this week, I bring you Babes of the World Cup:

world_cup_football_girls_623200653711pm786 Sport_South_Africa_2010_FIFA_World_cup_Football_fans_023162_

Eel out.


Actions

Information

16 responses

8 06 2014
The master

Carlos, you forgot one quality of a good poker player: Consistency. Sporadic wins or losses dont really count. Like for exemple my consistency at winning the last poker hand. The famous $5 hand. I think I will specialize on that one… suckers!!!

8 06 2014
Robert the Bruce

Jack maybe we should play showdown poker all night. 5 bucks a hand you might do o’k at that.Or bingo might be a good game for you.

8 06 2014
BRAVEFLAPS THE INTOLERANT

Lone Star by The Front Bottoms

“Lone Star”

Goodbye future, once so bright, meet my busted wallet
Watch my bank account run dry, 437 dollars spent
To put things back to the way they used to be
Still, I woulda spent so much more
But 437 dollars somehow shakes all responsibility
But it’s not easy

She looks me dead in the eyes and says “hey Braveflaps
If you still believe in the Lord above,
Get on your hands and knees and pray for us
Get on your hands and knees and pray for us

The past few months were pretty rough
A couple times, wished we both were dead
I never cried like that before,
I thought my eyes would pop out of my head
Not just preparing for nightmares
Years and years I do suppose
Nothing feels alright now
The length on my hear or the fit of my clothes
Iā€™m crying like a baby, soft and nothing

‘Cause I can leave so what now what, so where do I go
‘Cause I could imagine myself throwing all my clothes
Inside a suitcase without bothering to fold them
‘Cause I could imagine myself throwing all my things
Inside a suitcase without bothering to fold them

She looked me dead in the eyes and says “hey Bravelaps
If you still believe in the Lord above,
Get on your hands and knees and pray for us
Get on your hands and knees and pray for us

Because freshness is expected from any slow play artist,
I avoid using traditional techniques
I avoid using traditional techniques

8 06 2014
The master

Somebody help the Law. His knees must be hurting bad from going back and forth to the blackboard to write his favorite number…. 20.

8 06 2014
BRAVEFLAPS EL MARIACHI

I thought you were going to say something else.

And for the record, my favourite number is 69.

8 06 2014
sireelpoker

Hey Eric, nicely done. I weep for you as well, for I too feel your pain. Not to the tune of $473 but I’m almost half way there. Put a catchy tune to those lyrics and you might just make a lot more than your measly poker losses.

8 06 2014
BRAVEFLAPS THE INTOLERANT

Those are Front Bottoms lyrics. I just slightly doctored them. What’s worse than being down so much is that 12-14 months ago I was up $400 – so my variance is insane. I guess I should read more Doyle Brunson and watch less Charles Bronson.

8 06 2014
sireelpoker

PS. Spot the Portuguese fans in the 2nd picture (hint: there are 4).

8 06 2014
2 buck chuck

437 sounds like the range of cards you should play bravelaps.

8 06 2014
Mol

Cant wait until we all play patient and no one plays a hand all night šŸ™‚

9 06 2014
2 buck chuck

Sounds like a fun night and no donking We should sing campfire songs.

9 06 2014
Robert the Bruce

I will bring the marshmellows

11 06 2014
Robert the Bruce

Master debater cat got your tongue.

12 06 2014
The King of Donkeys

I have an announcement to make! Starting July 1st We can officially start playing at my place! I’ve got a 10 -12 person table, just need a few extra chairs.

12 06 2014
sireelpoker

King of Donkeys? I can only assume this is my son! Great news, but we all know you did this just to avoid paying the $2 everytime you play. Yeah Brazil!

13 06 2014
go italy

How can Alex be king of the donkeys when you are his dad.I don’t understand the monarchy system in poker.There still is one avoiding the 2 dollar agreement and you know who you are.

Leave a comment